“Data Driven Decision Making (DDDM)” - Your Path to Business Success in Die-Casting
1/24/2023 Experts Know-how

“Data Driven Decision Making (DDDM)” - Your Path to Business Success in Die-Casting

Getting accurate and comparable data is key to build an INDUSTRY 4.0 strategy for High Pressure Die Casting (HPDC), but actually, any casting process.

Foundry 4.0 - From dirty, dangerous, difficult to digital, dynamic, different

Introduction

Undeniably, the INDUSTRY 4.0 revolution is reaching every industrial sector and any type of aluminum foundries could not be less. Gaining control over foundry processes, being able to ensure the final quality of the components by solving production problems in real time or developing lean and energetically efficient processes are the ideal goals of any casting operation.

Also, to standardize knowledge about its own processes, usually dispersed among diverse figures and machinery, to keep it inside the organization is a very attractive aim for any type of foundry. But some factors especially regarding HPDC processes, such as the limited amount of well-trained foundrymen, the harsh process conditions given inside the cavity (high pressure / high temperatures and high melt speed, aggressive mold-melt reaction, etc.) as well as other conditions like the spraying make it difficult to capture and analyze process data for further exploitation.

In that scenario, the closest many aluminum foundries find themselves from jumping into INDUSTRY 4.0 is limited to process control data facilitated by industrial equipment that, even though one could think that suppose a solid and robust starting point, is far from reality. It is common that equipment from diverse brands provide different kinds of data and ratios; this also happens among different generations of machinery from the same brand. In addition, it is usual that data cannot be extracted from the cell or that there is no way to accede to a historic data storage.

Then, as a starting point, the problem is not that the aluminum foundry has no data to begin with, it is even worse: aluminum foundries find themselves in front of incoherent and non-comparable data. Data that cannot be centralized and, of course, data that might not give relevant information about the aspects wanting to monitor and / or to improve. All these aspects are fundamental, not only to approach an INDUSTRY 4.0 strategy, but also to analyze any production problem or process failure or incoherency.

Concluding, being able to obtain reliable, accurate and standardized process data seems to be a necessary starting point to develop an INDUSTRY 4.0 - HPDC strategy. 

But, where to begin?

Abstract

We read about it everywhere. The term ‘big data’ alone has become something of a buzzword in recent times – and for good reason. By leveraging the wealth of digital insights available at your fingertips and embracing the power of business intelligence (BI = Level 5), you can make informed decisions with confidence - the kind that will lead to commercial growth, evolution, and a healthier bottom lines. By implementing the right reporting tools and understanding how to analyse as well as to measure your data accurately, you will be able to make the kind of data driven decision making that will drive your casting business forward. Of course, this sounds incredible in theory!

But in practice, even IF you have access to the world’s greatest data from your casting factory, it’s possible to make decisions that disregard tangible insight, going with your gut instead. In most cases, this can prove detrimental to the business. While many (die-casting) foundries have already some kind of “system” in place, the majority drive with manual means, use paper and pencil to obtain data and are in reality very far away from any INDUSTRY 4.0 level. 

 

DATA DRIVEN DECISION MAKING

While sometimes it’s okay to follow your instincts, the vast majority of your casting business-based decisions should be backed by razor-sharp metrics, facts, figures, or insights related to your aims, goals, or initiatives that can ensure a stable backbone to your management reports and business operations. Casting data-based decision making will propel your business to new heights while making it more adaptable to an ever-changing commercial landscape. It should be at the heart of all of your strategies, activities, and operations.

Unfortunately, many casting operations – although they have a corporate software platform - rely heavily on Excel based manufacturing execution as well as production planning and controlling. In this way data-driven-decision making is virtually impossible as the operations are not working in an integrated way.

To help you on your quest towards analytical enlightenment, we’re going to explore data driven decision making concepts, study the importance of data driven decision making, consider the benefits of developing a data driven culture, and examine some real-world examples of casting companies turning insight into business-boosting action. 

 

Why Data Driven Decision Making Is Important In Casting Operations?

Data based decision making provides die-casting businesses with the capabilities to generate real time insights and predictions to optimize their performance. Like this, they can test the success of different product and process strategies and make informed business decisions for sustainable growth. There are a wealth of reasons that using data to make decisions is a pursuit every modern die casting business should place at the heart of their culture - and we’re going to explore the main points of importance as they are:

  • Continual organizational growth
  • Knowledge & Innovation
  • New business opportunities
  • Better communication
  • Unrivaled adaptability

In casting operations, data driven decision making tools will allow you to connect with casting business’s emerging trends and patterns that concern not only your internal activities but the casting industry around you. If you can understand these trends or patterns on a deeper level, you can make informed decisions that will ensure you remain competitive, relevant, and profitable at all times. One MAIN example is the EV (electric vehicle) trend which came upon the industry like no other. Here we see of course technical changes in terms casting performance like one huge part replacing a few small ones in chassis, but more important we look at integrated data collection allowing various technology and productivity advances. 

The EUROGUSS 365 Newsletter

Don't miss our best content and news around the die casting industry!

Sign up for the newsletter now for free.

THE 5 PRACTICAL TIPS FROM INDIAN (M)-SME DIE-CASTING FOUNDRIES

Now that you understand the importance of data-centric decision making for die casting operations, here are 5 practical tips from (M)-SME Indian die-casting foundries and takeaways for better data-based decision making in casting business.

The 5 India participants in this information exchange are in no particular sequence of order as follows: Dolphin Die-Casting, Spectrum Tool Engineers, SCL / TVS, Alicon and Dimo Die-Castings. They contributed in this exchange during the recently held in-person seminar in Bangalore hosted by ILZDA / DCSI via a small survey and sideline discussion.

 

1) Define objectives

 

To get the most out of your casting data teams, casting companies should define their objectives before beginning their analysis. Set a strategy to avoid following the hype instead of the needs of your casting business and define clear Key Performance Indicators (KPI’s). Although there are various KPI examples you could choose from, don't overdo it and concentrate on the most important ones within your casting industry. Btw, it is interesting to note that while some KPI’s for some may not be the same for others.

 

2) Clean and organize your data effectively in an integrated system environment

 

When it comes to data analytics (no matter which industry we talk but very much for casting operations), a fair share of an analyst's time is dedicated to cleaning and organizing the information to make sure that any wrongly formatted data is out before the analysis begins. This is a critical process to perform as the results of your analysis are the basis for a successful data driven strategy and your data needs to be a hundred percent accurate. In simple terms you must have a single source of truth. If you rely on MS Excel you may find very quickly inconsistencies and non-transparencies because it is easy to manipulate and easy to change and amend with no control on who changed and who reported the change. 

With seemingly infinite strings or sets of data to work with, drilling down into the most relevant, valuable insights is the only way to gain clarity and make better decisions.

That said, once you’ve gathered your data from your most relevant sources, taking the time to mine for the most business-boosting insights will ensure you can squeeze every last drop of value from your analytical efforts.

When you’re cleaning and organizing your casting and production data, you should focus on insights that are:

  • Outdated or irrelevant to your specific goals & outcomes (erase)
  • Need to be formatted and categorized (arrange)
  • Duplicated & creating confusion (erase & arrange)

Streamline the data you’ve gathered, note your most valuable sources, categorize your cleaned data logically - and you will be on the right path to data-driven success.

 

3) Analyse and understand

 

That may seem obvious, but we have to mention it: after setting the frame of all the questions to answer and the data collection, you then need to read through it to extract meaningful insights and analytical reports that will lead you to make data driven business decisions. In fact, user feedback is a useful tool for carrying out more in-depth analyses into the customer experience and extracting actionable insights. To do this successfully, it’s important to have context. For example, if you want to improve conversions in the purchasing funnel, understanding why visitors are dropping off is going to be a critical insight. By analysing the responses in the open comments of your feedback form (within this funnel), you will be able to see why they’re not successful in the checkout and optimize your website accordingly.

 

4) Present the data in a meaningful way

 

Digging and gleaning insights is nice, but managing to tell your discoveries and convey your message is better. You have to make sure that your acumen doesn’t remain untapped and dusty, and that it will be used for future decision making. With the help of a great data visualization software, you don’t need to be an IT crack to build and customize a powerful online dashboard that will tell your data story and assist you, your team, and your management to make the right data driven business decisions.

For example, you need to have your finances under control at all costs and we presented on Cost to Cast and Actual Base Cost separately. In addition, the most important shop floor data is coming from the Sew (Sequence of Work) inventory inside the production area.
Having here a 100% transparency and knowing precisely how many casting pieces in units / tonnage and volume are lying around on the shopfloor will lead directly to productivity gains and cost savings. Some casting companies we discussed with reported improvements via using an integrated manufacturing execution system (MES = Level 3) of INR 60 Laks and more in one year.  

THAT IS direct money into the pocket of the company, freeing up resources and leading to extensive capital improvement.

The pinnacle of data visualisation and data dashboarding is the implementation of a MCT – Manufacturing Control Tower. In India very few have such instrument but increasingly looking into the feasibility to establishing one. A MCT combines all aspects of production – productivity and cost control in one room providing manufacturing insights very few have and most want.

 

5) Invest into the right data-based decision making tools for improved die casting operations

 

When it comes to business analytics for data driven decisions, if you want to realize your goals and make consistently informed decisions, working with the right tools is essential.

We touched on the value of AI technologies - and expanding on that point (as well as the importance of setting measurable goals), working with the right tools will make data accessible to everyone. By gaining access to a centralized dashboard that offers a wealth of digestible data-driven insight, everyone in the business will thrive, resulting in consistent growth, innovation, and profitability. These self-service analytics tools will enable everyone within the business to work with data without prior technical skills - and when everyone can leverage data to their advantage, your business will thrive.

 

Key Takeaways For Efficient Data Based Decisions

We’ve explored several compelling examples of data driven decision making, and there’s no denying it – by harnessing data in the right way and measuring your success, you stand to propel your casting business to new and exciting heights.

 

This paper is based on a presentation by Christian Kleeberg held at ALUCAST 2022.

 

References:

1) Various RGU publications on Digital Transformation of Metal Casting Operations.
2) Cost to Cast as well as Know You Actual Base Cost (ABC).
3) The 10 Misconceptions when it comes to Digitalisation of Metal Casting Operations

Contact the Authors

Mr Dileep Yadav – Vadodara, Gujarat, India; Email: dy@frpconsulting.in

Mr Christian Kleeberg – Singapore; Email: ck@rgu-asia.com

Authors

Dileep Yadav

Dileep Yadav

FRPCON Vadodara

Christian Kleeberg

Christian Kleeberg

RGU Asia Pte Ltd

"Data Driven Decision Making (DDDM)" - Ihr Weg zum Geschäftserfolg im Druckguss
24.01.2023 Expertenwissen

"Data Driven Decision Making (DDDM)" - Ihr Weg zum Geschäftserfolg im Druckguss

Genaue und vergleichbare Daten sind der Schlüssel zum Aufbau einer Industrie 4.0-Strategie für das Hochdruckgießverfahren (HPDC), aber eigentlich für jedes Gießverfahren.

Gießerei 4.0 - Von dirty, dangerous, difficult zu digital, dynamic, different

Einleitung

Es ist unbestreitbar, dass die Revolution der Industrie 4.0 jeden Industriesektor erreicht, und jede Art von Aluminiumgießerei könnte nicht weniger davon berührt sein. Die Kontrolle über die Gießereiprozesse zu erlangen, die Endqualität der Komponenten durch die Lösung von Produktionsproblemen in Echtzeit zu gewährleisten oder schlanke und energetisch effiziente Prozesse zu entwickeln, sind die idealen Ziele jedes Gießereibetriebs.

Auch die Standardisierung des Wissens über die eigenen Prozesse, das normalerweise auf verschiedene Personen und Maschinen verteilt ist, um es innerhalb der Organisation zu halten, ist ein sehr attraktives Ziel für jede Art von Gießerei. Aber einige Faktoren, insbesondere in Bezug auf HPDC-Prozesse, wie z. B. die begrenzte Anzahl gut ausgebildeter Gießer, die rauen Prozessbedingungen in der Kavität (hoher Druck / hohe Temperaturen und hohe Schmelzgeschwindigkeit, aggressive Form-Schmelze-Reaktion usw.) sowie weitere Bedingungen wie das Sprühen, erschweren die Erfassung und Analyse von Prozessdaten für die weitere Nutzung.

In diesem Szenario kommen viele Aluminiumgießereien dem Sprung in die Industrie 4.0 am nächsten, wenn sie sich auf Prozesssteuerungsdaten beschränken, die von Industrieanlagen geliefert werden. Diese, auch wenn man meinen könnte, dass sie eine solide und robuste Ausgangsbasis darstellen, sind weit von der Realität entfernt. Es ist üblich, dass Geräte verschiedener Marken unterschiedliche Arten von Daten und Kennzahlen liefern; dies gilt auch für verschiedene Generationen von Maschinen derselben Marke. Darüber hinaus ist es üblich, dass Daten nicht aus der Zelle extrahiert werden können oder dass es keine Möglichkeit gibt, auf eine historische Datenspeicherung zuzugreifen.

Das Problem besteht also nicht darin, dass die Aluminiumgießerei überhaupt keine Daten hat, sondern es ist schlimmer: Die Aluminiumgießerei sieht sich mit unzusammenhängenden und nicht vergleichbaren Daten konfrontiert. Daten, die nicht zentralisiert werden können und natürlich Daten, die keine relevanten Informationen über die Aspekte liefern, die überwacht und / oder verbessert werden sollen. All diese Aspekte sind von grundlegender Bedeutung, nicht nur um eine Industrie 4.0-Strategie zu entwickeln, sondern auch um Produktionsprobleme, Prozessfehler oder Inkohärenz zu analysieren.

Abschließend lässt sich sagen, dass die Möglichkeit, zuverlässige, genaue und standardisierte Prozessdaten zu erhalten, ein notwendiger Ausgangspunkt für die Entwicklung einer Industrie 4.0 - HPDC-Strategie zu sein scheint.

Aber wo soll man anfangen?

Abstract

Wir lesen überall davon. Allein der Begriff "Big Data" ist in letzter Zeit zu einem Modewort geworden - und das aus gutem Grund. Indem Sie die Fülle an digitalen Erkenntnissen, die Ihnen zur Verfügung stehen, nutzen und sich die Möglichkeiten der Business Intelligence (BI = Stufe 5) zu eigen machen, können Sie fundierte Entscheidungen treffen, die zu wirtschaftlichem Wachstum, Weiterentwicklung und einem gesünderen Ergebnis führen werden. Wenn Sie die richtigen Reporting-Tools implementieren und wissen, wie Sie Ihre Daten genau analysieren und messen können, sind Sie in der Lage, die Art von datengestützten Entscheidungen zu treffen, die Ihr Gießereigeschäft voranbringen. In der Theorie klingt das natürlich unglaublich!

Aber in der Praxis ist es selbst dann, wenn Sie Zugang zu den besten Daten der Welt aus Ihrer Gießerei haben, möglich, Entscheidungen zu treffen, die greifbare Erkenntnisse außer Acht lassen, und stattdessen auf Ihr Bauchgefühl zu hören. In den meisten Fällen kann sich dies als nachteilig für das Unternehmen erweisen. Während viele (Druckguss-)Gießereien bereits über eine Art "System" verfügen, arbeiten die meisten mit manuellen Mitteln, verwenden Papier und Bleistift zur Datenerfassung und sind in Wirklichkeit weit von einem Industrie-4.0-Niveau entfernt.

 

DATA DRIVEN DECISION MAKING

Auch wenn es manchmal in Ordnung ist, seinem Instinkt zu folgen, sollte die überwiegende Mehrheit Ihrer Geschäftsentscheidungen in der Gießerei durch messerscharfe Metriken, Fakten, Zahlen oder Einsichten in Bezug auf Ihre Ziele oder Initiativen gestützt werden, die eine stabile Basis für Ihre Managementberichte und Geschäftsabläufe gewährleisten können. Die datengestützte Entscheidungsfindung wird Ihr Unternehmen zu neuen Höhen führen und es gleichzeitig anpassungsfähiger an eine sich ständig verändernde Wirtschaftslandschaft machen. Sie sollte das Herzstück all Ihrer Strategien, Aktivitäten und Abläufe sein.

Leider verlassen sich viele Gießereibetriebe - obwohl sie über eine unternehmensweite Softwareplattform verfügen - in hohem Maße auf Excel-basierte Fertigungsabläufe sowie auf Produktionsplanung und -steuerung. Auf diese Weise ist eine datengesteuerte Entscheidungsfindung praktisch unmöglich, da die Abläufe nicht integriert arbeiten.

Um Sie auf Ihrem Weg zur analytischen Erleuchtung zu unterstützen, werden wir uns mit Konzepten der datengesteuerten Entscheidungsfindung befassen, die Bedeutung der datengesteuerten Entscheidungsfindung untersuchen, die Vorteile der Entwicklung einer datengesteuerten Kultur betrachten und einige Beispiele aus der Praxis untersuchen, in denen Unternehmen Erkenntnisse in geschäftsfördernde Maßnahmen umsetzen.

 

Warum ist eine datengestützte Entscheidungsfindung im Gießereibetrieb wichtig?

Die datengestützte Entscheidungsfindung bietet Druckgussunternehmen die Möglichkeit, in Echtzeit Erkenntnisse und Vorhersagen zur Optimierung ihrer Leistung zu gewinnen. Auf diese Weise können sie den Erfolg verschiedener Produkt- und Prozessstrategien testen und fundierte Geschäftsentscheidungen für nachhaltiges Wachstum treffen. Es gibt eine Fülle von Gründen, warum die Nutzung von Daten zur Entscheidungsfindung ein Ziel ist, das jedes moderne Druckgussunternehmen in den Mittelpunkt seiner Unternehmenskultur stellen sollte - und wir werden die wichtigsten Punkte untersuchen: 

  • Kontinuierliches organisatorisches Wachstum
  • Wissen & Innovation
  • Neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten
  • Bessere Kommunikation
  • Unübertroffene Anpassungsfähigkeit

Im Gießereibetrieb können Sie mithilfe von datengestützten Entscheidungsfindungsinstrumenten eine Verbindung zu den sich abzeichnenden Trends und Mustern im Gießereibetrieb herstellen, die nicht nur Ihre internen Aktivitäten, sondern auch die Gießereiindustrie um Sie herum betreffen. Wenn Sie diese Trends oder Muster auf einer tieferen Ebene verstehen können, können Sie fundierte Entscheidungen treffen, die sicherstellen, dass Sie jederzeit wettbewerbsfähig, relevant und profitabel bleiben. Ein wichtiges Beispiel ist der EV-Trend (electric vehicle, Elektrofahrzeug), der die Branche wie kein anderer überrollt hat. Hier sehen wir natürlich technische Veränderungen in Bezug auf die Gussleistung, wie z. B. ein großes Teil, das ein paar kleine Teile im Fahrgestell ersetzt, aber noch wichtiger ist die integrierte Datenerfassung, die verschiedene Technologie- und Produktivitätsfortschritte ermöglicht.

Newsletter der EUROGUSS 365

Registrieren Sie sich, um keine Informationen und Neuigkeiten der Druckgussbranche zu verpassen!

DIE 5 PRAKTISCHEN TIPPS VON INDISCHEN (M)-SME-DRUCKGIESSEREIEN

Da Sie nun wissen, wie wichtig eine datengestützte Entscheidungsfindung für Druckgießereien ist, finden Sie hier 5 praktische Tipps von indischen (M)-SME Druckgießereien und Anregungen für eine bessere datengestützte Entscheidungsfindung im Gießereibetrieb.

Die 5 indischen Teilnehmer an diesem Informationsaustausch sind, ohne besondere Reihenfolge, wie folgt: Dolphin Die-Casting, Spectrum Tool Engineers, SCL / TVS, Alicon und Dimo Die-Castings. Sie trugen zu diesem Austausch während des kürzlich von ILZDA / DCSI veranstalteten Seminars in Bangalore durch eine kleine Umfrage und eine Nebendiskussion bei.

 

1) Definieren Sie Ziele

 

Um den größtmöglichen Nutzen aus Ihren Gießerei-Datenteams zu ziehen, sollten Gießereiunternehmen ihre Ziele definieren, bevor sie mit der Analyse beginnen. Legen Sie eine Strategie fest, um zu vermeiden, dass Sie dem Hype statt den Bedürfnissen Ihres Casting-Unternehmens folgen, und definieren Sie klare Key Performance Indicators (KPIs). Obwohl es zahlreiche Beispiele für KPIs gibt, sollten Sie es nicht übertreiben und sich auf die wichtigsten in Ihrer Branche konzentrieren. Interessant ist übrigens, dass manche KPIs für die einen nicht unbedingt die gleichen sind wie für die anderen.

 

2) Bereinigen und organisieren Sie Ihre Daten effektiv in einer integrierten Systemumgebung

 

Wenn es um Datenanalyse geht (unabhängig von der Branche, über die wir sprechen, aber vor allem bei Gießereibetrieben), entfällt ein großer Teil der Zeit eines Analysten auf das Bereinigen und Organisieren der Informationen, um sicherzustellen, dass alle falsch formatierten Daten entfernt werden, bevor die Analyse beginnt. Dies ist ein kritischer Prozess, da die Ergebnisse Ihrer Analyse die Grundlage für eine erfolgreiche datengesteuerte Strategie bilden und Ihre Daten hundertprozentig genau sein müssen. Einfach ausgedrückt: Sie müssen eine einzige Quelle der Wahrheit haben. Wenn Sie sich auf MS Excel verlassen, werden Sie sehr schnell auf Ungereimtheiten und Undurchsichtigkeiten stoßen, da es leicht zu manipulieren ist und leicht geändert und ergänzt werden kann, ohne dass kontrolliert werden kann, wer die Änderungen vorgenommen und wer die Änderungen gemeldet hat.

Bei scheinbar unendlich vielen Datensträngen oder -sätzen, mit denen man arbeiten kann, ist die Suche nach den wichtigsten und wertvollsten Erkenntnissen die einzige Möglichkeit, Klarheit zu gewinnen und bessere Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Sobald Sie jedoch Ihre Daten aus den wichtigsten Quellen gesammelt haben, sollten Sie sich die Zeit nehmen, die geschäftsförderndsten Erkenntnisse herauszufiltern, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie auch das letzte Quäntchen an Wert aus Ihren analytischen Bemühungen herausholen können.

Wenn Sie Ihre Gießerei- und Produktionsdaten bereinigen und organisieren, sollten Sie sich auf die Erkenntnisse konzentrieren, die es gibt:

  • Veraltet oder irrelevant für Ihre spezifischen Ziele und Ergebnisse (streichen)
  • Müssen formatiert und kategorisiert werden (ordnen)
  • Dupliziert und verwirrend (löschen und ordnen)

Rationalisieren Sie die gesammelten Daten, notieren Sie Ihre wertvollsten Quellen, kategorisieren Sie Ihre bereinigten Daten logisch - und schon sind Sie auf dem richtigen Weg zum datengesteuerten Erfolg.

 

3) Analysieren und verstehen

 

Das mag offensichtlich erscheinen, aber wir müssen es dennoch erwähnen: Nachdem Sie den Rahmen für alle zu beantwortenden Fragen und die Datenerfassung abgesteckt haben, müssen Sie die Daten auswerten, um aussagekräftige Erkenntnisse und analytische Berichte zu gewinnen, die Ihnen helfen, datengestützte Geschäftsentscheidungen zu treffen. Tatsächlich ist das Nutzerfeedback ein nützliches Instrument, um tiefergehende Analysen der Kundenerfahrung durchzuführen und umsetzbare Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen. Um dies erfolgreich zu tun, ist es wichtig, den Kontext zu kennen. Wenn Sie z. B. die Konversionsrate im Einkaufstrichter verbessern wollen, ist es wichtig zu verstehen, warum Besucher die Seite abbrechen. Wenn Sie die Antworten in den offenen Kommentaren Ihres Feedback-Formulars (innerhalb dieses Trichters) analysieren, können Sie erkennen, warum die Besucher den Kauf nicht erfolgreich abschließen und Ihre Website entsprechend optimieren. 

 

4) Die Daten sinnvoll präsentieren

 

Das Ausgraben und Sammeln von Erkenntnissen ist gut, aber es ist besser, seine Entdeckungen zu erzählen und seine Botschaft zu vermitteln. Sie müssen sicherstellen, dass Ihr Scharfsinn nicht ungenutzt und verstaubt bleibt und dass er für künftige Entscheidungsfindungen genutzt wird. Mit Hilfe einer sehr guten Datenvisualisierungssoftware müssen Sie kein IT-Experte sein, um ein leistungsstarkes Online-Dashboard zu erstellen und anzupassen, das Ihre Datengeschichte erzählt und Sie, Ihr Team und Ihr Management dabei unterstützt, die richtigen datengestützten Geschäftsentscheidungen zu treffen.

Zum Beispiel müssen Sie Ihre Finanzen um jeden Preis unter Kontrolle haben und wir haben die Gusskosten (Cost to Cast) und die tatsächlichen Grundkosten (Actual Base Cost) getrennt dargestellt. Darüber hinaus stammen die wichtigsten Betriebsdaten aus dem SEW-Inventar (Sequence of Work) innerhalb des Produktionsbereichs. Hier eine 100%ige Transparenz zu haben und genau zu wissen, wie viele Gussteile in Einheiten / Tonnage und Volumen in der Fertigung herumliegen, führt direkt zu Produktivitätssteigerungen und Kosteneinsparungen. Einige Gießereiunternehmen, mit denen wir gesprochen haben, berichteten von Verbesserungen durch den Einsatz eines integrierten Manufacturing Execution Systems (MES = Level 3) von INR 600,000 (Ca US$ 72,000.00) und mehr in einem Jahr. 

Das ist direktes Geld in die Tasche des Unternehmens, das Ressourcen freisetzt und zu umfangreichen Kapitalverbesserungen führt.

Die Krönung der Datenvisualisierung und des Daten-Dashboarding ist die Implementierung eines MCT - Manufacturing Control Tower. In Indien haben nur sehr wenige ein solches Instrument, aber es wird zunehmend nach der Möglichkeit gesucht, einen solchen einzurichten. Ein MCT vereint alle Aspekte der Produktion - Produktivität und Kostenkontrolle - in einem Raum und bietet Einblicke in die Produktion, die nur wenige haben und die meisten wollen.

 

5) Investieren Sie in die richtigen datenbasierten Entscheidungsfindungsinstrumente für verbesserte Druckgussverfahren

 

Wenn es um Geschäftsanalysen für datengesteuerte Entscheidungen geht, ist die Arbeit mit den richtigen Tools unerlässlich, um Ihre Ziele zu verwirklichen und konsequent fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen 

Wir haben den Wert von KI-Technologien angesprochen - und diesen Punkt (ebenso wie die Bedeutung der Festlegung messbarer Ziele) noch erweitert: Durch die Arbeit mit den richtigen Tools werden Daten für alle zugänglich. Von dem Zugriff auf ein zentrales Dashboard, das eine Fülle verdaulicher, datengestützter Einblicke bietet, wird jeder im Unternehmen profitieren, was zu beständigem Wachstum, Innovation und Rentabilität führt. Diese Self-Service-Analysetools ermöglichen es jedem im Unternehmen, ohne technische Vorkenntnisse mit Daten zu arbeiten - und wenn jeder die Daten zu seinem Vorteil nutzen kann, wird Ihr Unternehmen vorankommen.

 

Die wichtigsten Erkenntnisse für effiziente datengestützte Entscheidungen

Wir haben mehrere überzeugende Beispiele für datengesteuerte Entscheidungsfindung untersucht, und es ist nicht zu leugnen: Wenn Sie Daten richtig nutzen und Ihren Erfolg messen, können Sie Ihr Casting-Geschäft zu neuen und aufregenden Höhen führen.

 

Dieses Paper basiert auf einem Vortrag von Christian Kleeberg, gehalten auf der ALUCAST 2022.

 

Referenzen:

1) Verschiedene RGU-Publikationen zur Digitalen Transformation von Metallgießereien.
2) Cost to Cast sowie Know You Actual Base Cost (ABC)
3)Die 10 Irrtümer bei der Digitalisierung von Metallgießereien

Kontaktieren Sie die Autoren

Herr Dileep Yaday – Vadodara, Gujarat, India; Email: dy@frpconsulting.in

Herr Christian Kleeberg – Singapore; Email: ck@rgu-asia.com

Autoren

Dileep Yadav

Dileep Yadav

FRPCON Vadodara

Christian Kleeberg

Christian Kleeberg

RGU Asia Pte Ltd