18 - 20 January 2022 // Nuremberg, Germany
EUROGUSS 2022 Talent Award

Talents wanted!

EUROGUSS Talent Award

After the successful premiere of the EUROGUSS Talent Award 2020, we are again looking for the best young talents in 2022. Bachelor's and Master's theses that relate to an innovation, improvement or new applications in die casting along with its entire value chain will be honored.

The submitted abstracts will be evaluated and screened by a top-class international jury consisting of representatives from industry and research.

The presentation of the EUROGUSS Young Talent Awards takes place during the EUROGUSS 2022 in Nuremberg. The winners have the opportunity to present their work to interested trade visitors at the EUROGUSS trade fair forum.

Why is it worth participating?

  • Win attractive cash and non-cash prizes
  • Present your work in front of a professional audience at EUROGUSS 2022
  • Receive valuable feedback from a top-class jury
  • Make new contacts and build a network for your professional future
  • Free participation and invitation to EUROGUSS 2022

Participation

How can you participate?

All Bachelor or Master graduates who have completed their work in the last 1.5 years (January 2020) can participate.

The work should relate to innovations, improvements or new applications in die casting. New impulses with an impact on the foundry industry, e.g. from the fields of artificial intelligence, Industry 4.0, software or sustainability, are explicitly desired. Thus, students of non-foundry-related courses of study are explicitly invited.

Theses must be submitted via the application form no later than October 31, 2021. Please use this template for the abstract.
Template abstract Talent Award Download template

Eligibility requires a letter of recommendation from a university, college, research institution or company that supervised the work and approval to publish the work.

What do the five best submitters receive?

  • Invitation to present the work at EUROGUSS 2022
  • Payment of travel expenses (including flight, if applicable) and overnight accommodation on site in Nuremberg
  • Publication of a technical article about the final paper
The winners of the EUROGUSS Talent Award will additionally receive:
  • 1st place: 1.500,- EUR
  • 2nd place: 750 EUR
  • 3rd place: 500 EUR
In addition, the EUROGUSS Talent Audience Award will be awarded by the visitors of EUROGUSS. The winner will receive:
  • iPad (32 GB) incl. Apple Pencil
Timeline EUROGUSS Talent Award 2020

The Jury

Chairman of the Jury:

Franz-Josef Wöstmann

Franz-Josef Wöstmann, Fraunhofer IFAM, Head of Department Casting Technology and Lightweight Construction

Franz-Josef Wöstmann has been working in the foundry industry for more than twenty years and is an internationally recognized expert in this field. From 2004 to 2020, he headed the Foundry Technology department at Fraunhofer IFAM, which was continuously expanded under his professional guidance. Since 2020, Mr. Wöstmann has been responsible for the department of High-Efficiency Drives. The appointment as chairman of the expert jury is an expression of his reputation in the professional world. At the same time, this honorary commitment reflects his personal convictions: "International networking is an essential motor for progress. This applies not only at the level of companies and research institutions, but also at the level of students. The award is intended to make an important contribution to this," says Franz-Josef Wöstmann, underlining the importance of this competition.

Jury Members:

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Fehlbier

Martin Fehlbier, Professor of Foundry Technology at Kassel University since 2012

Before moving to the University of Kassel, Prof. Fehlbier was Head of the Technology Centre at the Volkswagen plant in Kassel, where he was responsible for casting development, series optimisation and Al/Mg structural parts production in cold chamber die casting. Under the direction of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Fehlbier, the new Chair of Foundry Technology at the University of Kassel - GTK has established itself as the "Centre for Lightweight Castings and Design" and sees itself as a link between university research and industrial practice.

Dr. TVL Narasimha Rao, Vice President, Research & Development

Dr. TVL Narasimha Rao, Vice President, Research & Development

Casting professional with 25 years’ experience, currently working with Sundaram Clayton Limited. Worked in area of casting: steels, titanium, superalloys, Al & Mg alloys. Published 70 papers, filed 6 patents. Awarded, Young Engineer of year- 1997 and R&D innovation-2003. Member for preparation of technology forecast documents on “Materials – Vision 2035” and “Manufacturing – Vision 2035” for India.

Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Tewes

Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Tewes, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Dozent für Gießereitechnik

Teaching the fascination of the foundry world is what drives him. That's why he founded the Foundry-Skills knowledge platform, where anyone interested can "experience" shop-floor experience on the screen. He studied foundry technology at the University of Duisburg-Essen and RWTH Aachen. After obtaining his promotion, he worked at Nemak Europe GmbH and later at Magma Gießereitechnologie GmbH. He is currently a lecturer in foundry technology at the University of Duisburg-Essen.

Dr. Guoping ZHAO

Dr. Guoping ZHAO, MSE Jiangsu University in major of Foundry technology in Metal forming Institute

Associate Professor of MSE Jiangsu University in major of Foundry technology in Metal forming Institute and holds a PhD of Materials Science from Technical University of Darmstadt. Mainly engaged in teaching and research related to develop new casting alloy and new casting processes

Dr.-Ing. Matthias Hördler, Volkswagen AG Leitung Entwicklung, Geschäftsfeld Gießerei (HUE)

Currently responsible for the development of the foundry in the engine and foundry division at Volkswagen. Casting is his passion. During his time at the University of Erlangen, he was already got in contact with casting processes. Due to his over 20 years of experience in the production, he has had to deal with many difficulties and knows the challenges on the hall floor. Die casting is an absolutely interesting field of work for him.

Sponsors

Partners

The winners of the EUROGUSS Talent Awards 2020

EUROGUSS 2020 Talent Award-Gewinner

  • Marvin Emde, Universität Kassel, „Potenziale für Druckgussbauteile durch Wandstärkenoptimierung“
  • Marius Kohlhepp, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, „Einfluss der Legierungszusammensetzung auf das Formklebeverhalten einer AlSi7Mg-Druckgusslegierung“
  • Ane Jimenez Zabaleta, Tecnalia Research & Innovation, “New HPDC alloys to address automotive industries requirements for the vehicle of the future”
  • Denis Ariel Ávila Salgado, Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, “Influence of B, Nb and Zr on hardness and wear resistance in copper alloys for the manufacture of plunger tips used in Die Casting”

Photo: Header © iStock.com / skynesher || Video: © iStock.com / Yuri_Arcurs

18. - 20. Januar 2022 // Nürnberg, Germany
EUROGUSS 2022 Talent Award

Talente gesucht!

EUROGUSS Talent Award

Nach der erfolgreichen Premiere des EUROGUSS Talent Award 2020 suchen wir auch 2022 die besten Nachwuchstalente. Hier werden Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten, die sich auf eine Innovation, Verbesserung oder neue Anwendungen im Druckguss mitsamt seiner gesamten Wertschöpfungskette beziehen, ausgezeichnet.

Die eingereichten Abstracts werden von einer hochkarätigen, internationalen Jury, bestehend aus Vertretern aus Industrie und Forschung, bewertet und gesichtet.

Die Verleihung des EUROGUSS Talent Awards findet im Rahmen der EUROGUSS 2022 am 19. Januar in Nürnberg statt. Die Gewinner haben die Möglichkeit, ihre Arbeit im Messeforum der EUROGUSS dem interessierten Fachpublikum vorzustellen.

Warum lohnt es sich teilzunehmen?

  • Gewinne attraktive Geld- und Sachpreise
  • Präsentiere deine Arbeit vor dem Fachpublikum der EUROGUSS 2022
  • Erhalte wertvolles Feedback von einer hochkarätigen Jury
  • Knüpfe neue Kontakte und bilde ein Netzwerk für die berufliche Zukunft
  • Kostenfreie Teilnahme und Einladung auf die EUROGUSS 2022

Teilnahme

Wie kannst du teilnehmen?

Teilnehmen können alle Bachelor- oder Master Absolventen, die Ihre Arbeit in den letzten 1,5 Jahren fertiggestellt haben (Januar 2022).

Die Arbeit sollte sich auf Innovationen, Verbesserungen oder neue Anwendungen im Druckguss beziehen. Ausdrücklich erwünscht sind neue Impulse mit einem Impact auf die Gießerei-Industrie z.B. aus den Bereichen Künstliche Intelligenz, Industrie 4.0, Software oder Nachhaltigkeit. Eingeladen sind also explizit Studenten der nicht gießereitechnischen Studiengänge.

Die Abschlussarbeiten müssen bis spätestens 30. November 2021 über das Bewerbungsformular eingereicht werden. Bitte verwende für den Abstract diese Vorlage:
Template abstract Talent Award Vorlage herunterladen

Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme ist ein Empfehlungsschreiben einer Universität, Hochschule, Forschungseinrichtung oder eines Unternehmens, die die Arbeit betreut haben und die Freigabe zur Publikation der Arbeit.
Jetzt Abstract einreichen

Was erhalten die fünf besten Einreicher?

  • Einladung zum Vorstellung der Arbeit auf der EUROGUSS 2022
  • Übernahme der Reisekosten (ggf. inkl. Flug) und der Übernachtung vor Ort in Nürnberg
  • Veröffentlichung eines Fachartikels über die Abschlussarbeit
Die Gewinner des EUROGUSS Talent Awards erhalten zusätzlich:
  • 1. Platz: 1.500,- EUR
  • 2. Platz: 750,- EUR
  • 3. Platz: 500,- EUR
Außerdem wird der EUROGUSS Talent Audience Award durch die Besucher der EUROGUSS vergeben. Der Gewinner erhält:
  • iPad (32 GB) inkl. Apple Pencil
Zeitplan Talent Award 2022

Die Jury

Vorsitzender der Jury:

Franz-Josef Wöstmann

Franz-Josef Wöstmann, Fraunhofer IFAM, Abteilungsleiter Gießereitechnologie und Leichtbau

Franz-Josef Wöstmann ist seit über zwanzig Jahren in der Gießereiindustrie tätig und ein weltweit anerkannter Fachmann auf diesem Gebiet. Von 2004 bis 2020 leitete er den Bereich Gießereitechnologie am Fraunhofer IFAM, der unter seiner fachlichen Lenkung kontinuierlich ausgebaut wurde. Seit 2020 ist Herr Wöstmann für die Abteilung Hocheffiziente Antriebe verantwortlich. Die Ernennung zum Vorsitzenden der Fachjury ist ein Ausdruck seiner Reputation in der Fachwelt. Gleichzeitig spiegelt dieses ehrenamtliche Engagement seine persönlichen Überzeugungen wider: »Internationale Vernetzung ist ein essentieller Motor für den Fortschritt. Dies gilt nicht nur auf der Ebene der Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen, sondern auch auf der der Studierenden. Der Award soll einen wichtigen Beitrag dazu leisten«, unterstreicht Franz-Josef Wöstmann die Bedeutung dieses Wettbewerbs.

Jurymitglieder:

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Fehlbier

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Fehlbier, seit 2012 Professor für Gießereitechnik an der Universität Kassel

Vor seinem Wechsel an die Uni Kassel war Prof. Fehlbier als Leiter des Technologiezentrums im Volkswagen-Werk Kassel verantwortlich für die Bereiche Gussentwicklung, Serienoptimierung und Al-/Mg-Strukturteilefertigung im Kaltkammerdruckguss. Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Fehlbier hat sich der neue Lehrstuhl für Gießereitechnik an der Universität Kassel - GTK als „Zentrum für Gussleichtbau und Konstruktion“ etabliert und versteht sich als Bindeglied zwischen der universitären Forschung und der industriellen Praxis.

Dr. TVL Narasimha Rao, Vizepräsident, Forschung und Entwicklung

Dr. TVL Narasimha Rao, Vizepräsident, Forschung und Entwicklung

Gießereifachmann mit 25 Jahren Erfahrung. Derzeit tätig für Sundaram Clayton Limited. Arbeitet im Bereich des Gießens: Stähle, Titan, Superlegierungen, Al & Mg-Legierungen. Er hat 70 Arbeiten veröffentlicht, 6 Patente angemeldet und wurd als Young Engineer of year- 1997 und R&D innovation-2003 ausgezeichnet. Zudem Mitglied für die Erstellung von Technologieprognosedokumenten für die "Materials - Vision 2035" und die "Manufacturing - Vision 2035" für Indien.

Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Tewes

Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Tewes, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Dozent für Gießereitechnik

Die Faszination der Gießereiwelt zu lehren, ist sein Antrieb. Daher gründete er die Wissensplattform Foundry-Skills, bei der alle Interessierten die Möglichkeit bekommen, Shop-Floor-Erfahrung am Bildschirm zu "erleben". Er studierte Gießereitechnik an der Universität-Duisburg-Essen und der RWTH Aachen. Nach seiner Promotion arbeitete er bei der Nemak Europe GmbH und später bei der Magma Gießereitechnologie GmbH. Aktuell ist er Dozent für Gießereitechnik an der Universität Duisburg-Essen.

Dr. Guoping ZHAO

Dr. Guoping ZHAO, MSE Jiangsu University im Fachbereich Gießereitechnik des Instituts für Metallumformung

Außerordentlicher Professor an der MSE Jiangsu University im Fachbereich Gießereitechnik des Instituts für Metallumformung und hat an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt in Materialwissenschaften promoviert. Er beschäftigt sich hauptsächlich mit der Lehre und Forschung im Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung neuer Gusslegierungen und neuer Gussverfahren.

Dr.-Ing. Matthias Hördler, Volkswagen AG Leitung Entwicklung, Geschäftsfeld Gießerei (HUE)

Aktuell verantwortlich für die Entwicklung der Gießerei im Geschäftsfeld Motor und Gießerei bei Volkswagen. Gießen ist seine Passion. Bereits während seiner Zeit an der Universität Erlangen hat er sich mit Gießverfahren beschäftigt. Aufgrund seiner über 20-jährigen Erfahrung in der Produktion hat er sich schon mit vielen Problemen auseinandersetzen müssen und kennt die Nöte auf dem Hallenboden. Druckguss ist ein absolut interessantes Beschäftigungsfeld für ihn.

Die Sponsoren

Die Partner

Die Gewinner des EUROGUSS Talent Awards 2020

EUROGUSS 2020 Talent Award-Gewinner

  • Marvin Emde, Universität Kassel, „Potenziale für Druckgussbauteile durch Wandstärkenoptimierung“
  • Marius Kohlhepp, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, „Einfluss der Legierungszusammensetzung auf das Formklebeverhalten einer AlSi7Mg-Druckgusslegierung“
  • Ane Jimenez Zabaleta, Tecnalia Research & Innovation, “New HPDC alloys to address automotive industries requirements for the vehicle of the future”
  • Denis Ariel Ávila Salgado, Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, “Influence of B, Nb and Zr on hardness and wear resistance in copper alloys for the manufacture of plunger tips used in Die Casting”

Fotos: Headerbild © iStock.com / skynesher || Video: © iStock.com / Yuri_Arcurs